Navlakhi Vav – Located in the Laxmi Vilas Palace compound,is the only Vav (Stepwell) in Vadodara (Baroda) City today and probably the only remnant of the Gurjar rule. A plaque on the Vav says it was built in Sultan Muzaffar Shah’s time in the 15th century. Ramesh Joshi’s book ‘Imarat Ane Avshesho — Baroda Nagari no Prachin Itihas ’ says that on one of the Lower Floors of the Vav is a Brahmi inscription saying Suryaraj Kalchuri,a general of the Gurjar Kingdom and Son-in-Law of King Daddh I, built the Stepwell in Vatpadra. The Vav is/was called Navlakhi because 9 Lakh Gold Coins were Spent to Build it. It was also Refurbished in Muzaffar Shah’s time.

Navlakhi Vav is 600+ years Old. It was then developed by Maharaja Sayajirao & now the Stepwell goes till the Well.

In Earlier Times, the Stepwell’s water was used to Drink in the Lukshmi Villas Palace, but now-a-days it is used to Suppy Water to Golf Course.

An Informative thing is, when in Olden times, Another King came to Fight, then the Whole Army gathers up in Vav & then Attack from behind, so that nobody know that there are Army in Vav.
This type of Arrangement was done by Maharaja Sayajirao Gaekwad.

Information : History of Vadodara

“Navlakhi Vav Heritage Walk – 14/6/15, by”

From Navlakhi Vav Heritage Walk – 14/6/15, by Posted by Baroda Rocks on 6/17/2015 (15 items)

Generated by Facebook Photo Fetcher 2


You may also like...

0 thoughts on “Navlakhi Vav – Heritage Walk”

Leave a Reply

Traffic at a Glance

Pageviews 2.125

Days in Range 30

Average Daily Pageviews 71

From Search Results 1.370

Unique IPs 1.433

Last 30 minutes 0

Today 0

Yesterday 77

Facebook Page Reviews

Baroda Rocks
powered by Facebook
Chokidar Dhiren Mehta
Chokidar Dhiren Mehta
Jay shree kastbhajan Dev salangpur vala
Nikhil Shah
Nikhil Shah
2019-02-01T14:08:18+0000 hi
Parth Desai
Parth Desai
amazing page one must follow it in order to get latest news and admire beautiful photography!!!
Sandip Rajguru
Sandip Rajguru
vadodara's most reliable information ..
Priyadutt Raj
Priyadutt Raj
Jigar Tewar
Jigar Tewar
Sanjay Singh Chauhan
Sanjay Singh Chauhan
Bhavesh Chauhan
Bhavesh Chauhan