VADODARA: Finals of the late Maharaja Ranjitsinh Gaekwad Memorial Open Gujarat Cum Western Railway T-20 Knock Out Cricket Tournament organized by Western Railway Mazdoor Sangh (WRMS) will be held on Thursday, March 16.

“This tournament is tribute to late Maharaja Ranjitsinh Gaekwad who was a Ranji trophy player. The relations of WRMS with the royal family of Vadodara are old and in the past also such memorial tournaments were held for late Ranjitsinh Gaekwad because from the time of late Fatehsinhrao Gaekwad, cricket has been nurtured by the royal family,” said JG Mahurkar, general secretary, WRMS.

“In 1988, late Madhavrao Scindia was witnessing a cricket match at Pratapnagar. WRMS had requested him to raise a cricket stadium at Pratapnagar because Baroda has produced so many great cricketers of international stature,” he said.

The tournament was inaugurated by Vadodara divisional railway manager (DRM) Amit Kumar Singh, and Pradeep Banerjee, secretary of Vadodara District Sports Association and senior divisional commercial manager of Vadodara railway division on March 6.

Sharifkhan Pathan, president of WRMS, K P Gupta, zonal treasurer and well known cricketer Narayanrao Satham were also present in the inaugural match which was played between Gujarat Electricity Board and Darshanam Academy. Vakkar Shaikh is handling the tournament in which 28 teams are participating.

The finals and the prize distribution ceremony will take place at Madhavrao Scindia stadium on Thursday.

M S University chancellor and member of Baroda’s royal family Shubhangini Raje Gaekwad, Rajiv Gupta, director general of National Academy of Indian Railways, Samarjitsinh Gaekwad and Vadodara DRM Amit Kumar Singh will also be present at programme.

Source link

You may also like...

0 thoughts on “Maharaja Ranjitsinh Gaekwad T20 tournament final on Thursday | Vadodara News”

Leave a Reply

Traffic at a Glance

Pageviews 11.647

Days in Range 30

Average Daily Pageviews 388

From Search Results 8.120

Unique IPs 7.780

Last 30 minutes 28

Today 524

Yesterday 345

Facebook Page Reviews

Baroda Rocks
powered by Facebook
Priyadutt Raj
Priyadutt Raj
Jigar Tewar
Jigar Tewar
Sanjay Singh Chauhan
Sanjay Singh Chauhan
Bhavesh Chauhan
Bhavesh Chauhan