Vadodara: The Vadodara fire brigade is set to become fighting fit again. Plagued by an ageing fleet over the years, the fire brigade will now have new vehicles.

Till last year, around 50 of the 63 vehicles of the fire brigade including fire tenders were over 20 years old. The situation began to change with the fire brigade getting a fleet of 15 tankers to replace the existing ones, but no new fire tenders were procured.

The standing committee of the civic body in December cleared three different proposals in the meeting to procure 23 new vehicles for the fire engines. These include eight mini water tenders that can operate in narrow streets or lanes and in congested areas, 12 advance water tenders with latest facilities and equipment and three 18 kilo liter fire tenders.

“The process of giving the orders and other formalities are being conducted and we should be getting the vehicles soon. Provisions for more vehicles have been made in the budget,” said in-charge chief fire officer Deepak Gunjal.

Gunjal added that the pumps installed on old water tankers that had been phased out would also be used by fitting them on the new fire engines. “The new water tankers can have a capacity of 10 kilo liters and with the pumps even they can function as fire engines,” said Gunjal.

The VMC in partnership with the Vadodara Urban Development Authority will procure a hydraulic elevated platform to fight fires in high-rise buildings. The vehicle will be able to fight fires up to a height of 90 m.

Source link


You may also like...

0 thoughts on “Fire brigade fleet to be revamped | Vadodara News”

Leave a Reply

Traffic at a Glance

Pageviews 1.974

Days in Range 30

Average Daily Pageviews 66

From Search Results 1.281

Unique IPs 1.539

Last 30 minutes 3

Today 11

Yesterday 56

Facebook Page Reviews

Baroda Rocks
powered by Facebook
Parth Desai
Parth Desai
amazing page one must follow it in order to get latest news and admire beautiful photography!!!
Sandip Rajguru
Sandip Rajguru
vadodara's most reliable information ..
Priyadutt Raj
Priyadutt Raj
Jigar Tewar
Jigar Tewar
Sanjay Singh Chauhan
Sanjay Singh Chauhan
Bhavesh Chauhan
Bhavesh Chauhan