Vadodara: After a woman was run over by a state transport (ST) bus on VIP Road in September last year, the traffic police had decided to close the openings of the road dividers across the city that posed risks to commuters’ lives. But, except two or three such openings, many continue to remain.

However, the traffic department will be closing them down after studying the impact. In September last year, the divider intersections at Malhar Point on Old Padra Road and VIP Road were closed But, adding to the woes, commuters continue to drive on the wrong side at Malhar Point and near Dairy Den Circle in Sayajigunj.

“There are many such openings that are important but we are studying the impact and the probable outcome of closing them,” said assistant commissioner of police (traffic), S D Rathod. He added that the closing of Malhar Point junction has been effective as traffic flow has smoothened there.

However, many drivers have been noticed rushing on the wrong side on both sides of the road to avoid taking a long turnaround. “It is true that commuters drive on wrong side but it is difficult to check and penalize them due to lack of man power,” said a senior police official.

“There are roads where traffic is heavy and when a junction is closed down on such stretches, it is a nightmare to drive. The traffic keeps piling up due to absence of traffic signal,” said Sanjog Patel, a resident of Alkapuri.

Rathod told TOI: “When there are small openings on the road, the traffic slows down. The roads are also bottlenecked due to parking of the vehicles on both sides therefore it is necessary that such openings be closed.”

Source link


You may also like...

0 thoughts on “Dangerous divider openings to be closed after study | Vadodara News”

Leave a Reply

Traffic at a Glance

Pageviews 12.017

Days in Range 30

Average Daily Pageviews 401

From Search Results 8.410

Unique IPs 8.030

Last 30 minutes 76

Today 398

Yesterday 521

Facebook Page Reviews

Baroda Rocks
powered by Facebook
Priyadutt Raj
Priyadutt Raj
Jigar Tewar
Jigar Tewar
Sanjay Singh Chauhan
Sanjay Singh Chauhan
Bhavesh Chauhan
Bhavesh Chauhan